Regional Structure

The South West regional network comprises six trusts across Gloucestershire,  Wiltshire, Somerset, Dorset, Devon and Cornwall.

Regional Lead

Dr Steve Dickinson consultant nephrologist, Royal Cornwall Hospital Trust

Organisations involved in the KQuIP programme

  • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital Trust
  • Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust
  • North Bristol Trust
  • Dorset County Hospital

Renal unit quality improvement (QI) leads

Each renal unit has a medical and multi-professional QI lead who lead on the project locally.


  • Collect data, on the defined objectives of the chose projects and any regionally agreed data
  • Implement any educational  and awareness materials at the set time points in the project
  • Actively participate in discussions through attendance at KQuIP regional activities, webinars/ calls. This will include regional study days and regular network webinars/ calls.

The QI leads within each Trust are as follows:

Exeter – Heather Atkins, Karen Steer, Dr Lynsey Webb, Dr Richard Powell (SpR)

Bristol – Diane Evans (Transplant coordinator), Dr Dominic Taylor (Nephrologist) and Mr Samuel Turner (Surgeon)

Dorset – Kathleen O’Neill (Matron) Gemma Fox ( Transplant recipient nurse), James Metcalf (vascular surgeon)

Gloucester – Dr Jim Moriarty (Nephrologist) and Emma McDonald (Clinical Services Manager)

Plymouth – Leanne Savage (Tx Recipient nurse), Linda Boorer (Transplant nurse consultant) and Dr Imran Saif (Nephrologist)

Truro – Sue Durkins, Emma Johns and Steve Dickinson